Support vs. Security

This is an old post from my Facebook (some edits made) that is speaking loudly to me today. Thinking it’s for some other people too:

Security is a false god; begin making sacrifices to it and you are lost.

It’s the danger of putting security anywhere else other than Jesus Christ. It like a jail cell. It has everything you want in security except one thing… freedom. Then suddenly the beauty of security has become something fearful and cold. It’s my curse really. Security for myself, and most of human nature for that fact, has their security go to one another.

I guess it’s easy to do and at times feels and looks a lot more fulfilling than putting security in Jesus. When I look at it, I see tangibility, closeness, gratification, love and affirmation. It looks almost perfect… almost. It’s lacking something though. It doesn’t meet the need of my security. A mentor said it best: “Relational withdrawals without relational deposits will leave you bankrupt.” I was bankrupt. Sure, I the deposits were being made, but the withdrawals from myself or for myself were far higher than the deposits being made. I was in the red.

I remember the week my Mom had a heart attack this past October. I suddenly became in desperate need of somewhere to hold on to. All my friends, were great friends and displayed concern and love and care and were amazing, but my heart longed for something more. I was looking for someone to not just care, but hurt with me. I needed someone who could feel exactly what was going on inside of me. I was needing someone to not just wipe the tears away, but to cry with me. I needed someone to carry me. I was looking for someone to hold on to (in a metophorical sense), but they were made to lean on. Let me show you:

In the book of Genesis, as Adam named the animals in Eden, God noticed man’s need for companionship. God says “It is not good for man to be alone.” Following this He made Eve. A companion. Do you know what the definition of companion is:

COMPANION: A person employed to accompany, assist, or live with another in the capacity of a helpful friend.

God enlisted Eve as a helper, but ultimately God was doing the work. I must remember that people were made for support… not security. I must choose daily to focus on that which is unseen. The walls had closed in on me and I felt alone, but the Lord reminds me of one thing: “Do not be discouraged. Be strong and courageous. The Lord, your God is with you. He will never leave you or forsake you.”

Do you hear the guarantee, the promise in that? People are insecure when they are secure in people because of the uncertainty of the other person. People leave. People forsake. We are not perfect.

It’s so easy for my balances to be off somedays, causing me to put more security into people than I should. However, intentional choices to remind myself that people are support in my life, not security allows me to put my eyes back onto Christ. I remind myself of who God says He is to me: “loving, my Rock, shelter, sheild, faithful, consistent, jealous and eternal.” Reminding myself who Christ says He is to me allows me to easily, quickly and painlessly take my security from people and put it with Christ, where I know I am PERFECTLY secure.

Your Thoughts?

